UEA Leadership

The Utica Education Association Board of Directors is comprised of experienced  professionals representing all levels of education in Utica Community Schools who make recommendations and advocate to protect the rights, responsibilities, income and benefits associated with teachers and paraprofessionals in the District.


Liza has served as UEA President since 2010 and is a full-time release President responsible for the negotiation and maintenance of the master agreement between the Utica Community Schools (UCS) and the Utica Education Association.

Her duties also include performing HR functions, coordinating crisis activities, grievance processing, political lobbying, maintaining financial records and responding to the needs of over 1,400 UEA members.



Melissa is from Rochester Hills and has served as Board Secretary since 2009.  She is currently a 4th Grade Teacher at Burr Elementary and has been a teacher since 2004. Melissa is also a member of the UEA SPARKS Leadership Academy and has six years’ experience on the Curriculum Leadership Council.  

She has also previously served as a cheerleading coach, science Olympiad coach and on the student advisory committee for Utica High Schoo


Angelo Harwood is from Shelby Township and has been a UEA Board Member since 2011 and a teacher since 2003.  He is currently teaching at Flickinger Elementary.

Angelo’s mission on the board is to bring the entire district association together as one with great communication and ONE message. He is responsible for launching the Harwood Updates on Facebook and the UEA remind account.  



Pam has served on the Board for more than 20 years and is a First and Second Grade Montessori teacher at Messmore Elementary, serving as a UCS teacher for more than 30 years.

Pam has served as a Data Chair for Messmore Elementary, as lead on the committee of Montessori/Michigan State Standards Alignment, as a Building Representative for more than 20 years and as an MEA Delegate.


Lawanda has been a District professional for 40+ years and has been the Head Building Representative for Eisenhower High School since 2001. She was formerly Head Building Representative for Jeannette Junior High School. She has devoted half of her teaching experience to junior high school and senior high school.

She has been an MEA Delegate for approximately 6 years and is our longest standing union board member with 40+ years of service.


Rebecca, from Shelby Township, is in her second year as a UEA Special Education Trustee.  She has been a teacher at Jeannette Junior High since 2007 and is a 20-year teaching veteran.

She has a passion for teacher union representation after working previously in two charter schools. She was frustrated experiencing substandard tests scores, poor student safety, treatment of employees, and lack of adherence to special education law. As a UEA Board Member, she wants to make sure that Utica Community School students, teachers, and staff are always treated with respect and dignity. She is also passionate that UCS students receive the best education possible.


Courtney is from Macomb Township and took over as UEA Treasurer in the 2018-19 school year. She currently teaches English 8 at Davis Junior High and previously was at Jack Harvey Elementary for 12 years, teaching in the elementary grades.

She is passionate about making decisions as UEA Treasurer based in logic and reason, working towards the greater good of our whole District. She joined the board because she believes that there is strength in numbers and that together teachers can accomplish so much more if they collectively put their minds to a goal and objective.


Christopher is from Sterling Heights and has served as Board Elementary Trustee since 2016. He has been a 5th Grade teacher at West Utica Elementary since 2011.

He joined the board in an effort to make sure elementary teachers, especially those early in their careers, are represented and know the importance of union membership and union activism.


Brian Cecil, from Clinton Township, has served as a UEA Board member since 2004 and has been a teacher at Eppler Junior High School since 1995.

His mission on the board is to provide representation and advocacy to ALL members.  He first volunteered to become a building representative as a first-year teacher and did not feel that new or younger teachers had enough advocacy in the District, so he took on a leadership role in the UEA to address that. As member of the UEA Board of Directors, he is driven by a willingness to represent all members regardless of their political choices, age, and positions.


Jonathan lives in Clawson, MI and has served as the UEA Elementary Trustee since 2016. He is currently a 4th Grade teacher at Monfort Elementary and has been teaching in the District since 2003.

His dedication to his position on the board comes from his desire to serve as a positive representative for his fellow elementary teachers.  He brings expertise in areas of education policy and public education advocacy and has a desire that his background translates into unique and creative perspectives regarding issues facing teachers and the UEA.


Nate is from Macomb Township and joined the Board as a Secondary Trustee in the 2018-19 school year. He is also has been an elected Michigan Education Association Delegate since 2012. He currently teaches at Davis Junior High and has been a teacher since 2002.

He joined the board with a goal of assisting younger teachers who feel they do not have a voice. He is also driven by defending teacher working conditions and rights.


Amy Zitzelberger is from Windsor, ON and has been an Executive Director to the UEA, Macomb Academy Education Association, and ESP since 2017. She previously served as an educator for more than 25 years and has also participated in teaching programs in India (2011-12) and Thailand (2003-04) and was a Teacher of the Year at Hazel Park High School in 2009.  

Amy’s mission on the UEA Board is to deliver high quality public education through organization and advocacy for MEA members who are dedicated to all of Michigan’s children.